Poetry month #28: Drama queen

I’ve got Shakespeare’s number programmed in,
I’ve got favourite demons for nights of sin
I’ve got a ticket to dance at Asgard’s hall
I’ve got slippers for Cinderella’s ball –

I’m in on Moriarty’s schemes
I writhe with operatic screams
I fill my heart with siren songs
And love the stage where I belong

I’ve married imaginary kings
With cubic zirconia for the rings
The empress has no clothes, declare
But I don’t mind my body bare

My castle’s full of air and skies
My crown came in a bag with fries
I’m a loyal drama queen
And I love my haunted scene.

You’ve got reality checks on your side,
You’ve got the basis to deride,
You’ve got the bills and chores to do,
You’ve got serenity to pursue

You’re organized beyond compare,
You love to nap on your lawn chair
You live your life by a flow chart
And who am I to pick it apart

The empress has no clothes, declare
But I don’t mind my body bare
My castle’s full of air and skies
But every day’s got its surprise

In the theatre of the mind
I’m royalty as I’ve defined
Why would I work to see my role
As something that must be controlled

I’m a loyal drama queen –
And I love my haunted scene.

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

