Poetry month #20: Suburban dreamboat

For San, March 2003

Romeo and Juliet
A treasured, favourite vignette
Anthony and Cleopatra
Something I loved to chase after
Guinevere and Lancelot
Represented Camelot

… all these faces in my inkblot…

Until you,
Oh until you
And now I’d rather have an ordinary
Every day extraordinary
Surburban dreamboat
Standard kind of love

I wished on ill-begotten stars
I locked my hope in iron bars
I set the beauty of a scene
That ended in a primal scream
And let the oceans of despair
Define the limits of my care

… extremes let down my hair…

Until you,
Oh until you
And now I’d rather have an ordinary
Every day extraordinary
Surburban dreamboat
Standard kind of love

Standard joy and standard hearts
Nothing you’d paint and call it art
Unless you happened to proclaim
An ode to joy instead of shame –
Daughter of Elysium
Lolling in these rays of sun

.. the spark of your daily welcome…

Now I prefer this ordinary
Every day extraordinary
Surburban dreamboat
Standard kind of love

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

