Poetry month #18: After you

I laid around a little long
Lamenting fate with bitter song
But I was never one to sit and stare
For when you date a cultish queen
You can’t expect she’ll stay serene
Her temperment is not so laissez-faire

After you
I’m coming after you
Fairy blood to trace your lips
A warrior at the door
A warlock for a lookout
And a muse to write the score
I refuse to give up any ground
It’s an old game of lost and found
I’m reclaiming love’s sound
In my screams
I’m coming after you

I’m putting on my armament
A little blush, a favourite scent
That dress that made your lips part as you looked
My hair’s set loose, my look’s got spark
I’m dancing hard all through the dark
I’m not the same old wife that you forsook

After you
I’m coming after you
Fairy blood to trace your lips
A warrior at the door
A warlock for a lookout
And a muse to write the score

You can leave a wife and queen
Call our children but a scheme
Tear up the letters, kill the file
Tell yourself you were beguiled
Erase our names, erase the past
Fill your mind with shattered glass
Concentrate on other screens
But I’ll visit in your dreams

I refuse to give up any ground
It’s an old game of lost and found
I’m reclaiming love’s sound
In my screams
I’m coming after you

…but who is it making me come?

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poetry month #18: After you

  1. lynnsappho says:

    Welcome back Mags – S.

Leave a Reply

