Poetry month #12: Disarm me

It is a day early, I know, but I like this better for a Monday than the one I had set to post, since it is an archangel day.

He has a charm up his sleeve
And wings under his shirt,
A little taste of heaven and a
A bit of Eden’s dirt
He’s got tablets for your soul
A stocking to stuff full of coal
And a little lesson that he must assert
Especially when he’s looking to convert…

But better than his wishes are
The power of his kisses.

Disarm me, as you charm me
Go ahead and I’ll sell the farm, see
I’ll smile and wave to you
As I take the final step through
Your heavenly gates
Call it written in the fates

He’ll wrestle on the mountain
And proclaim love on the stair
He’s got a thousand fountains
Painting all his form as fair
He’ll call you on to prophethood
Flay you for the common good
Make sure your heart’s prepared
He does his work with flair

But better than his wishes are
The power of his kisses.

Disarm me, as you charm me
Go ahead and I’ll sell the farm, see
I’ll smile and wave to you
As I take the final step through
Your heavenly gates
Call it written in the fates

… call any time, I’ll take the bait.

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in To Lin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

