Poetry month #7: Lethe

May 2002

Lethe

I think I should have had
Another drink
Or maybe asked the ferryman
To let me off the ship
Forgetting you
Seems to be the only thing
I can never do.

Anthony and Cleopatra,
Oberon and Titania,
Magdalene and Jesus,
Dido and Aeneas
Bonnie and Clyde…
It’s all prophesied

But you reincarnate me
With the feel of your lips
And even just a whisper
And my heartbeat never skips
Eternity
Wouldn’t fill the universe
The way you saturate me.

It’s just a serpent
Eating its tail
That we keep for a pet

A figure eight that
Learned to flail
Just a ribbon for my hair

Horus’s rope
Around my neck
A perfect circle
For a bed

A blade for you
A rope for me
A poisoned kiss
Nailed to a tree
Kiss me kill me
Find me leave me
It never ends

I never even find the time
To wish I could get off the ride.

Anthony and Cleopatra,
Oberon and Titania,
Magdalene and Jesus,
Dido and Aeneas
Bonnie and Clyde…
It’s all prophesied.

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

