Poetry month #2: Love’s labyrinth

This was written for San for a belated anniversary – September 21, 2005

Love’s labyrinth

The door clicks shut at 3 am.
And I know you’re wandering
The spiral of your soul again
I want to ask you everything –
Did you meet the goblin king
Or kiss a unicorn?

Our love goes down and through and round
The fiery core beneath the ground
Golden cord that leads us through the din
But is it leading out or in?
Love’s labyrinth,
Love’s labyrinth,
Love’s labyrinth

The bedroom’s full of ghosts and djinn
I feel them passing through me
When you reach for me again
Is that why you shudder –
Even when my hands are still
Or is it just my skin?

Our love goes down and through and round
The fiery core beneath the ground
Golden cord that leads us through the din
But is it leading out or in?

I don’t fear Minotaurs when you’re around
And I wouldn’t travel with anyone else
And if I’m the captain of my soul, well,
You’re the first mate
And whether this trail leads to freedom
Or confinement
You’re fine by me, as long as you’re by me.

Our love goes down and through and round
The fiery core beneath the ground
Golden cord that leads us through the din
But is it leading out or in?
Love’s labyrinth,
Love’s labyrinth,
Love’s labyrinth

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

