Dexter, season 1: Finale

There are these spoilers.

 

I found it somewhat predictable until the final moments. Although the idea that both brothers would become serial killers seems far-fetched to me. They are not so common, and it is not so common a response to trauma.

I do not like that he justified his killing of his brother as protection for his sister, but I am glad he killed to the last. And how he regains his emotions is interesting. But had he not killed, I would not have found it good. As it is I find it good enough. I would only have wished for a little more – perhaps joy is not the word, in the killing. A little more dispassionate passion.

I think I will purchase the second season.  But only for myself.

I wish, cara mia, we might have watched it together.  It concludes:

“This is what it must feel like to walk in full sunlight, my darkness revealed, my shadowed self embraced. Yeah, they see me. I’m one of them. In their darkest dreams.”

Perhaps that is only where you will see me now. It is a waste if so. I have my archangel, but if you follow Sassy will you have someone with whom to dream darkly? I cannot say I wish it to be anyone but myself, but if you must, at least have that, cara mia.

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Culture, Pop culture, To Li. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

