Catacombs of my desire

A stroke of genius, or of luck
We thought to look each other up
Truest serendipity.
‘Cause we’ve always been who we describe
As wanted in our ads online
(Loves to cook and very witty.)

I’ll take you on a date.

The field’s laid out with grass and breeze,
A kiss beneath the willow trees
A lovely summer day;
A glass of wine, a revelation,
Soaking up the conversation
A touch to pave the way…

But be careful where you step, my love
It’s not a pastoral scene for doves.
You’d better mind the hidden stair
To the final ending’s lair –
We’re meeting over the catacombs
Of my desire.

Don’t mind my lovers’ skeletons,
The dessicated dreams;
The dead ends of devotion,
Promises’ broken beams;
A shroud that covers all my sins
Mummified intent and hardened skin –
We’ll be different, I’ve atoned
But failure’s carved upon the stone
Of these catacombs
Of my desire

Come for a picnic, come for a dance
Come for the talk, come for romance
Come for nostalgia, come for devotion
Come for peace or come for commotion
Just come –
And…come. With me.

Enjoy our fertile field of dreams,
The visions of our favourite scenes,
Our mutual attraction.
It’s not a joke; my heart is true.
There’s no lie in saying I love you
It’s just there’s a chain reaction.

So don’t forget…
My lovers’ skeletons,
The dessicated dreams;
The dead ends of devotion,
Promises’ broken beams;
A shroud that covers all my sins
Mummified intent and hardened skin –
We’ll be different, I’ve atoned
But failure’s carved upon the stone
Of these catacombs
Of my desire

What will we bury next
In the catacombs
Of my desire?

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs, To Lin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

