Cinderella’s dancehall

Two hearts as one, my prince, you say,
Dancing together all our days –
I don’t argue. (No I don’t argue that.)
Love’s true kiss upon your lips –
My body’s rhythm in your hips
I don’t argue. (No I don’t argue that.)

But who wrote the music and rented the hall
Who pays the piper and who makes the call;
The price of admission to this little event –
When the dancing stops, who pays the debt?

Destiny’s Child’s just another band
And Amor fati’s a self-help programme;
Give me the Secret, the Power of Now –
Teach me Seven Habits, Win Friends and Influence People how.
(Influence me, baby, – in – flu –ence.
I’m wearing my crystal slippers.
I know they drive you wild.)

Who made the moon and who hung the stars
Evolution or creation or aliens from Mars –
All the moves and gestures and cunning little tricks –
Didn’t rescue the last set on the Titanic.

Born to rule your kingdom did you ever guess,
The rest of us handed down considerably less –
I don’t argue. (No I don’t argue that.)
I got in the door thanks to fairy godmother’s tricks
And if I had to whore a little, well that was just the fix
I don’t argue. (No I don’t argue that.)

Destiny’s Child is just another band
And Amor fati’s a self-help programme;
Give me the Secret, the Power of Now –
Teach me Seven Habits, Win Friends and Influence People how.
(Influence me, baby, – in – flu –ence.
I’m wearing my crystal slippers.
I know they drive you wild.)

Midnight hour’s coming and my car is just a pumpkin
My dress still has the tags and credit collection’s at my door.
We all paid to get in, it’s just some were born rich and
Some of us bargained our souls to the witch.
Yes, in that little enchanted forest you like to fly over on your way to the ski hill.

But what a lovely tune; let’s take one more turn –
Is that the clock I hear?

(March 2010)

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

