Gothic McMansion

Ancient runes turned to suburban tales
A witch as a housewife; a prince closing sales
Building up overdraft on our line of goodwill
Any surprise now we can’t pay the bills?

(Who knew they came with so much…interest)

The house is in foreclosure
And I’m losing my composure
And all the blood’s been sublet –
Repossess me,
Repossess me

Go back in time and stop me baby,
No more musing on the drapery
Screw the best design to be found for the dungeon
Forget all the cutlery for every function

(Oh, that rack of knives)

The house is in foreclosure
And I’m losing my composure
And all the blood’s been sublet –
Repossess me,
Repossess me

Oh

The ties that bind us
The ties that bind us

The ties that bind us can’t make up
For these designer gags we wear;
Where did they come from, and when did our smoke signals Push out all the air?

We’ve always been a literary convention but now we’re losing our pretension –
A suburban cautionary tale…
Holding a worthless bill of sale –

Can’t we both exhale?

(Even with these knives under the ribs. Where we like them best.)

Trouble in paradise; lawyers at the door
Tears and fears and all our ideals in pieces on the floor
Glasses of the latest and high-rated Chilean find
Shattered with your argument against our peace of mind

(But you know I’d follow you to a trailer)

The house is in foreclosure
And I’m losing my composure
And all the blood’s been sublet –
Repossess me,
Repossess me

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs, To Li. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

