Serial killer dreams

An old one, but refound of late.

It’s a measure of my affection
That I don’t feel
The need for protection
I don’t invite just anyone
To stay with me
‘Til morning comes
I should ask you to go away
And warn you
It’s not safe to stay
But I believe you this one night
When you say
That it all will be all right

You must have cast a very powerful
Spell
To be able to quell
All my fears –
Are you ready for my tears?

There’s always a serial killer
In my dreams;
There’s always a recalcitrant soul
That’s not quite what it seems
There’s always a massacre
An acid bath
The addictive taste of
Extended torture
There’s always a serial killer
In my dreams

There’s a refrigerator door
That opens with a head
Or maybe a torso
I taste identifying bites,
Feel the coldness of
A sharpened ice pick
Helter skelter’s on the walls
A rough voice
Making all my calls
A lover screaming ’til they’re hoarse
And then I’m
Sleeping with the corpse

Do you think you can hold me
Down
To stay above ground
When I strike
Will you be able to survive?

There’s always a serial killer
In my dreams;
There’s always a recalcitrant soul
That’s not quite what it seems
There’s always a massacre
An acid bath
The addictive taste of
Extended torture
There’s always a serial killer
In my dreams
And before you reach for me-

You should know that
The serial killer
Is me.

– Lynn

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

