Cerberus

Another old, refound

Oh the collar at your throats
Is reflected in the moat
The river of forgetting
And the chains that keep you bound
Rattle as a counterpunctal sound
To the dead who are calling

I can hear them – calling.

Underground –
You keep the shadows underground
The living up;
The dead below
And the people on the
Street they never know
Just what it is
They’re walking on
Underground

And you keep the dead inside the cave
The living from peeking in the grave
I’m no Orpheus of songmaking
And I’m not sure you’re susceptable
To my charms and abilities
So if I extend my hand bite it.

I might enjoy it.
Oh, I just might enjoy it

And there you have the key
To the reason for this little journey
It’s not just to throw you a bone
But to cast about and discover:

Would you keep me in, or out?

Underground –
You keep the shadows underground
The living up;
The dead below
And the people on the
Street they never know
Just what it is
They’re walking on
Underground

Lynn

About Jenn

Find me on Twitter @JennGruden
This entry was posted in Songs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

